nurse filling out forms

    There are six designated regional perinatal centers throughout Georgia. Within each region, every hospital is given a designated level of care based on the services it provides. Memorial Health University Medical Center (MHUMC) is the regional perinatal center for southeast Georgia. The neonatal services at MHUMC are designated Level III, meaning they are the highest level of perinatal services for pregnant women and babies. 


    As a regional perinatal center, MHUMC also provides consultation and transport for patients as needed and educational support for other hospitals in the region. The perinatal/neonatal outreach coordinators at MHUMC assess the needs of the hospitals in their region and develop educational plans to address those needs.

    Southeast Georgia Hospitals

    The following hospitals are part of the southeast Georgia region, along with MUMC. 

    Appling Healthcare System Baxley Level I
    Bacon County Hospital Alma Level I
    Coffee Regional Medical Center Douglas Level I
    East Georgia Regional Medical Center Statesboro Level II
    Liberty Regional Medical Center Hinesville Level I
    Mayo Clinic Health System Waycross Level II 
    Meadows Regional Medical Center Vidalia Level I
    Midwife Group and Birth Center Savannah Free-standing Birthing Center
    Southeast Georgia Health System - Brunswick Campus Brunswick Level II
    Southeast Georgia Health System – Camden Campus St. Mary’s Level I
    St. Joseph’s/Candler Health System Savannah Level II
    Wayne Memorial Hospital Jesup Level I
    Winn Army Community Hospital Ft. Stewart Level I

    Level II hospitals are specialty hospitals that care for mothers and infants that have some risk factors but do not require the intensive observation of a Level III hospital.

    Level I hospitals care for mothers and infants with minimal risk factors. These hospitals must be prepared to provide emergency care to mothers and infants with unexpected problems.