Research Day

  • Basic, clinical, and translational research are integral components of medical education at Memorial University Medical Center. Basic research provides a fundamental understanding of molecules, mechanisms, cellular processes, and genetic mutations associated with diseases and disorders. Clinical research produces knowledge essential for understanding human disease, preventing and treating illness, and promoting health. Translational research brings discovery directly from the laboratory to the patient bedside in a short amount of time. All three forms of research improve and advance patient care.

    Annual Memorial Health Research Day
    Each year, student researchers are invited to present their research findings in a judged competition held in the spring. All research must first be approved by our Institutional Review Board (IRB).

    2014 Research Day Instructions & Submission Documents

    For more information or help with study design, statistical analysis, etc., please contact:
    Eric Shaw, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Community Medicine
    Mercer University School of Medicine
    Office: 912-350-1729
    Fax: 912-350-1765

    2013 Research Day Winners

     Medical Research Savannah, Ga

    Poster Presentation

    • First Place: Bijal Shah, Mercer medical student, "Use of Mutant Herpes Simplex Virus Strains to Inhibit Sarcoma Growth."
    • Second Place: Jason Howard, M.D., radiology PGY-3, "Imaging Characteristics of Cerebral Adrenoleukodystrophy."

    Oral Presentation

    • First Place: Rebecca Fabbri, M.D., surgery PGY-5, "Is Cerebral Computed Tomographic Angiography Equivalent to Nuclear Medicine Perfusion Test to Confirm Brain Death?" 
    • Second Place: Celia Reynolds, laboratory oncology research, "ERSR is a Driving Force of Cell Death during COPD Exacerbation."
    • Third Place: Elizabeth Helmer, M.D., surgery PGY-5, "Simplifying the Measurement of Pulmonary Contusion to Predict Patient Outcomes."