Your Spine Health

  • graphic of spineYour backbone is made up of 33 vertebrae that are separated by spongy disks. The backbone is classified into four distinct areas:

    1. Cervical area -- the seven bony parts in the neck

    2. Thoracic spine -- the 12 bony parts in the back area

    3. Lumbar spine -- five bony segments in the lower back

    4. Sacral and coccygeal -- the lower tip/tailbone area of the spine. By adulthood, the five sacral vertebrae fuse to form one bone and the four coccygeal vertebrae fuse to form one bone.

    Throughout your life, your spine helps you move, bend, lift, work, and play. If your spine is injured, it can have a devastating effect on your quality of life. Fortunately, Memorial Spine can help. Listed below are some of the most common conditions we treat.

    • Low back pain, including pain caused by spondylolisthesis and spinal stenosis.
    • Neck pain 
    • Compression fracture 
    • Disc disease 
    • Scoliosis 
    • Spinal cord tumors